Chakra Vinyasa Flow

What I love about yoga is there is always something new to learn.  The well of yoga is deep and even the most devout yogi is always discovering new truths within, we just have to be open to receive what our teachers give us, (which is, by the way why we sweat it out on our mats, to be open to receive!).

On that note, beginning in March, The Green Yogi is changing up Thursday mornings.  Julie Rader, will be dedicating every Thursday 9:30am class to The Chakras.  How cool is that?  Yogis will receive a Chakra inspired Vinyasa Flow every week to not only improve upon their physical practice but to open their Charkas for energy to flow freely within the body.


Intrigued, but not quite sure what a Chakra is?  Read on for an idea and get to a class to try it out, I guarantee you will not be disappointed!

Energy flows through 7 areas of the body called Chakras.  When energy is blocked one can feel fatigued, stressed, sore, tight, even physically and mentally ill.  It is so important to understand the Chakras so you can keep your energy flowing and body humming.

1. Root Chakra – Our foundation that grounds us.
Location: Base of spine, tailbone area.
Emotional issues: Survival issues such as financial independence, money, and food.
More on Root Chakra healing

2. Sacral Chakra – Our connection and ability to accept others and new experiences.
Location: Lower abdomen, about 2 inches below the navel and 2 inches in.
Emotional issues: Sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure, sexuality.
More on Sacral Chakra healing

3. Solar Plexus Chakra – Our ability to be confident and in control of our lives.
Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area.
Emotional issues: Self-worth, self-confidence, self-esteem.
More on Solar Plexus Chakra healing

4. Heart Chakra – Our ability to love.
Location: Center of chest just above heart.
Emotional issues: Love, joy, inner peace.
More on Heart Chakra healing

5. Throat Chakra – Our ability to communicate.
Location: Throat.
Emotional issues: Communication, self-expression of feelings, the truth.
More on Throat Chakra healing

6. Third Eye Chakra – Our ability to focus on and see the big picture.
Location: Forehead between the eyes.
Emotional issues: Intuition, imagination, wisdom, ability to think and make decisions.
More on Third Eye Chakra healing

7. Crown Chakra – The highest Chakra represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually.
Location: The very top of the head.
Emotional issues: Inner and outer beauty, our connection to spirituality, pure bliss.
More on Crown Chakra healing

Be Inspired,


Leave a Reply